top of page

The Four Elements

Updated: Jan 22, 2022

One of the major connections between Science and Astrology is the Elements. Fire, Earth, Water and Air all play fundamental roles in the Zodiac as well a life itself. Humans are made up of more then 70% of water, air (oxygen) comes from plants and the atmosphere and is needed to be able to breathe. Fire provides light and heat, and molds other metals and materials to form new ones. Earth, rock, and land provides the structure and stability for life to build and sustain itself on Earth. A lot of human experience can be considered trivial and based on perception. However the elements cannot be denied and in the same way the elemental influence through the zodiac is unmistakable.

From Aries to Pisces each zodiac sign belong to specific element group. Each group contains three zodiac signs. In order it is Fire (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius) - Earth (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn) - Air (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius) and Water (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces). Each sign behaves differently yet one in the same with their elements. For example both Gemini and Aquarius are ruled by Air, yet they both channel air energy differently. Gemini tends to express the adaptable and changing nature of Air, while Aquarius tends to reflect the stillness and reckless side of Air. Both Taurus and Capricorn are ruled by Earth, yet Taurus reflects the fixed, grounded nature of Earth, while Capricorn expresses the transmutable energy of Earth, with the ability to hold the other elements and or transmute them (Note: the symbol of Capricorn is a goat with the ability to move through water and also climb the mountain) The more we understand who we are from an elemental point of view, we then align to our natural inner process. Some common rewards of living in our elemental power is emotional stability, clear mindedness, clarity of direction through challenges and the ability to waver the harsh realities of life.

Within Astrology, when analyzing a chart one of the key things to recognize is the dominant elements. As with all things this is both positive and negative. The more underdeveloped and unaware we are of our energy the more destructive. Where as the more we are aware of our energy we can produce positive consistent results. Learning to generate the best results with our energy is a life long process. There are all kinds of ways to strengthen our elements as well. For example assertive behavior and action strengthens fire, while routine and consistency strengthens Earth, communication in all its variations strengthens Air, emotional presence and awareness of both Self and others strengthens Water.

Fire Sign types (Anyone with prominent Aries, Leo, Sagittarius and or Sun, Mars, Jupiter and the 1st, 5th an 9th houses) tend to be energetic, passionate, loaded with impulses and attitude. They can literal burn a trail of destruction in their wake - or burn away old and outworn ideas and structures. These individuals are usually very driven or rebellious. They tend to be very active and can be athletic and competitive. The shadow of the fire element is being too concerned with Self at the expense of others and or too impulsive. Having a strong independent mindset is vital, but it can get carried away when we think our way is always best or we never compromise with others and their feelings and desires. When fire signs learn to put others first along with themselves - they become leaders and symbols of freedom in their social circles and cultures.

Earth Sign types (Anyone with prominent Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn and or Mercury, Venus, Saturn and the 2nd, 6th and 10th houses) can be just as driven as Fire Signs but with an added sense of caution, analytical mindset and thorough planning. Even if they are genuinely progressive all Earth Sign types have a certain aura of tradition about them. Indeed, these are the individuals that enjoy maintaining and reasserting tried and true ideals, philosophies and how we live our lives. The shadow of the Earth element lies in being too attached to ones principles and 'how things should be" way of living. They can become overly critical and judgmental when they feel their view on life is challenged. When Earth Sign types learn to think outside the box and work on being creative and flexible, the become the ones that we all seek out for real advice, compared experiences and all around direction.

Quirky, changeable and hyper aware, Air Sign types (Anyone prominent in Gemini, Libra, Aquarius and or Mercury, Venus and Uranus and the 3rd, 7th and 11th houses) are walking enigmas. More then others they can quickly contradict themselves with their powerful minds. This element is the heartbeat of culture and community. These individuals have quick minds and sharp tongues. There is two major types of Air Signs where one type is extremely talkative and present, where as the other type is more silent and kinetic; both can have scattered thoughts, but this usually looks very different to their loved ones and social circles. Air Signs are intelligent and abstract. They can create lasting systems that the whole world lives by. The shadow of Air element is superiority complex. They can get so "amazed" by their own ideas, ideals and philosophies that they become inflexible and cold to others. An Air Sign that knows how to be present instead of in their heads are some of the most evolved individuals on the planet.

Compassionate, intuitive and energetically powerful, Water Sign types (Anyone prominent in Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces and or the Moon, Pluto and Neptune and the 4th, 8th and 12th houses) known as the most misunderstood element, individuals strong in water energy are just as contradicting as the Universe itself. The Universe both creates and destroys. Life itself everyday is both nurturing and destroying itself. In the same way, Water Sign types have the ability to blend intuition with thought and action. The problem usually lies in their perspective. Their watery minds work just like the Law of Attraction; other words whatever their powerful minds focus on does in fact manifest in some way. Emotions are difficult to understand let alone navigate them. As a result Water types tend to develop more as they mature, as they need time to understand themselves. The great shadow of the Water element is self sabotage and pity. They say no one understands them and limit their own energy out of fear and concern with emotional protection. When these individuals trade self loathing for self reflection, they become stronger and more capable of not only handling life but the ones we all go to for non judgement and true understanding.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All